Are Barbie’s Really Bad For Children?

Love this post, I belong to a sewing group on Facebook, and women say they made clothes for Barbie or a Sindy and then for themselves. More fuss is made of Barbie than guns, tanks etc.

Dolls, Dolls, Dolls

Recently my sister sent me an article about a child sized Barbie Dreamhouse in Berlin which had become the subject of controversy amongst feminists who wanted it banned.

http://www.dailymercury.com.au/news/pretty-pink-dolls-or-naked-angry-blonde/1871662/

This made me rather angry. I’ve often heard the arguments about Barbie not being a good role model for girls because of her figure and supposed attitude so at the risk of annoying people I’m going to put in my five cents worth.

First of all let me say that I have no children or grandchildren and that my nieces are now adults so I don’t pretend to be an expert on child development but surely children are more influenced by the adults in their own lives than by a toy. Apart from the careers suggested by Mattel I’m sure there are lots of children whose Barbie has a job just like mum or dad, or maybe has marvellous adventures that…

View original post 427 more words

Leave a Reply

